clinton-harn-hero-mobile

Clinton Harn

电影摄影师、电影制作人和制片人

Clinton 是一名电影摄影师兼电影制作人、制片人,他的同事们都觉得他来自“文艺复兴时期”。他对创意技术的热情让他几乎深入到了创意和艺术媒体的方方面面。自 2002 年开始,他就曾担任过许多职务,如电影和纪录片的监制、艺术总监、摄影总监、助理摄影师、调焦师、录音师、声音设计师和混音师。2020 年,Clinton 正在拍摄一部新的电影《电梯》,该电影由一支视觉效果、化妆和制作设计团队参与,他们曾参与了电影《黑客帝国》、《金刚狼》和《血战钢锯岭》的拍摄。

联系 Clinton Harn

精选产品

“存储空间是我的制作链中的一个关键方面。从本质上讲,它包含了重要的数据,这些数据可以使我做得最好。我不明白为什么人们会在硬盘质量上妥协。我保护我的投资,但更重要的是保护我的客户。这就是我使用 G-Technology 硬盘的原因。”

G-Technology 的不同之处

Clinton 已经很久没有遇到过硬盘故障了。八年多前,他开始在其规工作流程中使用 G-Technology 硬盘。当他开始制作令人惊叹的延时电影《Terra Australis》(2016 年上映)时,Clinton 开始更广泛地接触硬盘供应商。“当我们开始制作《Terra Australis》时,我知道我们正在尝试一些特别的东西,所以我想使用钱能买到的最好的硬盘。” Harn 说。

最终,只有一个指标可以衡量:硬盘是否存在任何问题。从 Clinton 的体验来讲,G-Technology 硬盘还没有出现过任何问题。Clinton 讲起,有一次在拍摄现场,他的行李被一辆卡车意外碾过。而他的 G-Technology 硬盘和 MacBook® Pro 都在包中。笔记本表面出现了几个凹痕,但硬盘并没有受到损伤并且运行完全正常。虽然 Clinton 对 G-Technology 的坚固性和耐用性充满信心,但他不建议坠落硬盘或让它们被移动的车辆碾过。

“如果我必须用一句话总结 G-Technology,那就是:专业人员为专业人员制造的工业级硬盘,存储行业中没有其他公司能够与之匹敌。因此,无需费力即可轻松使用 G-Technology。”

简化的工作流程

通常情况下,即使在他的桌面编辑工作站上,Harn 也会尽量避免安装大型设备。他坚信要尽可能提高便携性。移动硬盘是他的存储策略。他在办公室中使用的设备需要在路上也能提供服务,所以他在硬盘方面的选择极其重要。Clinton 现在使用 G-SPEED Shuttle with Thunderbolt 3 进行一般文件存储。在编辑方面,因其高性能、便携性和 Thunderbolt 3 速度,Harn 选择了 G-SPEED Shuttle with Thunderbolt 3。

有趣的是,Harn 的办公室里并没有安装大型磁盘存储系统 - 一些人称之为“坦克”。他宁愿将自己的时间和资源用于制作而不是存档,而且他相信自己的 G-SPEED Shuttle 将在整个工作周期内保护他的资产。

“我的客户服务政策是,我尽量不储存太多的东西。例如,我会将客户的材料保留三到四周。我会在书面文档中规定,在那时间之后,我会删除该数据。这样我无需大量硬盘来归档数据。我的整个工作流程的中心是:进行编辑,产品格式化和交付,然后完成。我备份的唯一东西是我的一些个人作品集或任何我希望保留以用于营销目的的素材。”

不断发展

与 G-TEAM 中的许多其他专业人士不同,Clinton 并不固守某个特定的工作流程。他的工作涉及照片、视频和音频,他管理这些媒体的数据的方式各不相同。不变的是,每项工作都会产生大量需要管理的数据,每项工作的数据管理量也在增加,Clinton 相信 G-Technology 能够完成这项工作。

Clinton 期待采用更快、更灵活的连接技术,尤其是全新的 G-Speed Shuttle SSD,这是 G-Technology 的工作流程系列的一部分。借助 Thunderbolt™3 提高吞吐量和固态硬盘速度,传输速率将不断攀升,Clinton 将能够更快地存储和编辑项目。

“有了 G-SPEED Shuttles with ev Bay Adapters,我不必在现场或工作中携带笨重的大型硬盘。我现在可以非常方便地携带 G-DRIVE® RaW SSD。然后我可以回到基地,把它们放到 ev Bay Adapter 中,然后传输所有数据即可。对我而言,这意味着自由和享受。”

工作流程系列的多功能性让 Clinton 知道,G-Technology 倾听像他这样的专业人士的意见,并制作他们想要的产品。除了坚固性、性能、美观性等,G-Technology 一直在为专业人士开发更好的产品。这就是 Clinton 将 G-Technology 视为“前沿技术”的原因。

在日常工作生活中使用 G-Technology 产品的 G-Team 成员都是各自领域的佼佼者。G-Team 成员因参与得到回报。

G‐Technology 外置硬盘可用于构成整体备份解决方案。建议用户将最重要的文件备份两份或更多份,或者将两个或更多副本存储在单独的设备或在线存储空间中。

clinton-harn-hero-mobile

Clinton Harn

Cinematographer, Filmmaker and Producer

A cinematographer, filmmaker and producer, Clinton is regarded by his peers and colleagues as a “Renaissance” man. His passion for creative technology has seen him delve into almost every facet of creative & artistic media. Since 2002, he has donned roles including executive producer, art director, director of photography, assistant cameraman, focus puller, sound recordist, sound designer and mixer on films and documentaries. In 2020, Clinton is currently working on a new film “The Lift”, featuring visual effects, make-up and production design team who worked on the films “Matrix”, “Wolverine” & “Hacksaw Ridge”.

Connect with Clinton Harn

Featured Projects

The Last Night That I Lived by Virgil Donati
Expand Section
Go Behind The Scenes
Expand Section

"Storage space is a key facet in my production chain. In essence, it contains important data that monetizes what I do best. Why people compromise on drive quality eludes me. I protect my investments, more importantly, my clients. That's why I use G-Technology drives."

The G-Technology Difference

Clinton hasn’t had a drive fail in a while. More than eight years ago, he began using G-Technology drives as part of his regular workflow. By the time he started working on his jaw-dropping time lapse film "Terra Australis" released in 2016, Clinton was open to embracing the drive vendor more broadly. "When we started work on 'Terra Australis,' I knew we were onto something special, so I wanted to use the best drives money could buy." says Harn.

Ultimately, only one metric matters: whether there are any problems. In Clinton’s experience,  G-Technology drives haven’t suffered a single hitch. Clinton describes one time when his gear bag was accidentally run over by a truck on set. His G-Technology drives and MacBook® Pro were in the bag. While the notebook received a couple of dents, the drives emerged unscathed and fully functional. While Clinton has every faith in G-Technology’s ruggedness and durability, he does not recommend dropping the drives or having them get run over by any moving vehicle.

"If I had to sum up G-Technology in one statement, it would be this: industry grade drives made by professionals, for professionals. No other company in the storage industry can match that. It’s what makes G-Technology a no-brainer."

Streamlined Workflow

As a rule, Harn shuns large gear setups, even for a desktop editing station. He’s a firm believer in maximizing portability. Portability drives his storage strategy. What works in his office needs to serve just as well on the road, so his choice of drives is doubly important. Clinton now uses G-Technology G-DRIVE with Thunderbolt™ 3 for general file storage. When it comes to editing, Harn switches to the G-SPEED Shuttle with Thunderbolt 3 for its high performance, transportability, and Thunderbolt 3 speeds.

Interestingly, Harn doesn’t have a larger-scale disk storage system in his office—a "tank" as some call it. He would rather dedicate his time and resources to production than archiving, and he’s confident that his G-SPEED Shuttles will keep his assets protected throughout his job cycles.

"My policy in how I serve clients is that I try not to store too much stuff. For example, I will keep a client’s material for three to four weeks. I stipulate in a written document that after that time, I get rid of it. That way I don’t have tons and tons of drives to archive stuff with. My whole workflow is built around: I do the edits, I get the product formatted and delivered, and it’s done. The only things I backup are some of my personal show reels or any footage that I want to keep for marketing purposes."

Always Evolving

Unlike many other professionals in the G-TEAM, Clinton doesn’t hold religiously to a certain workflow. He works across photo, video and audio, and how he manages data for each of those mediums varies. The constants are that each job generates a lot to data to manage, data management per job is increasing, and that Clinton trusts G-Technology to get the job done.

Clinton looks forward to adopting faster, more flexible connection technologies—specifically the new G-Speed Shuttle SSD, which is part of G-Technology’s workflow series. With Thunderbolt ™ 3 increased throughput and SSD speeds, transfer rates will climb and Clinton will be able to store and edit projects even faster. 

"With the G-SPEED Shuttles with ev Bay Adapters, I don’t have to bring cumbersome large drives on the set or to a job. I can now bring very portable G-DRIVE® RaW SSDs. Then I can come back to base, dock them into the ev bay adapters and do all my transfers there. For me, that’s freedom and luxury."

The versatility of the workflow series is how Clinton knows that G-Technology listens to professionals like him and crafts the products they want. In addition to ruggedness, performance, aesthetics, or anything else, G-Technology is always developing better products for Professionals.  This is why Clinton sees G-Technology as "cutting edge." 

G-Team members are leaders in their respective fields who use G-Technology products in their day-to-day work lives. G-Team members are compensated for their participation.

G‐Technology external hard drives serve as an element of an overall backup strategy. It is recommended that users keep two or more copies of their most important files backed up or stored on separate devices or online services.

© 2020 Western Digital Corporation or its affiliates. All rights reserved.