适用于专业摄影师的存储解决方案

当今的专业摄影师拥有无数的数字工具,可以比以往任何时候都更加轻松地创建内容并获得更好的成果。摄影师在暗房内使用化学品和昂贵的、经过特殊处理的纸张处理照片的时代已经一去不复返了,数字革命改变了这一切。现在,借助于数码相机和数字存储,摄影师可以即时获得拍摄结果,不必为了查看照片而苦苦等待照片冲洗。

无论您是经验丰富的专业人士,还是最近刚刚接触摄影的新手,这篇文章所介绍的工具都能让您的工作更加轻松,并获得最佳成果。我们假设您已经根据自己的需求选择了最好的数码相机,因此本文的讨论重点是数字存储、如何管理您的作品库、编辑和优化图像以及如何存档和与其他人共享。我们将探讨并回答许多摄影师都会遇到的一些常见问题,例如:

了解照片存储

固态硬盘 (SSD) 与机械硬盘 (HDD) 的比较
如果您问问大多数摄影师,他们会说您永远不会有足够的存储空间。这是因为摄影师希望保留他们的大部分作品,不想丢弃任何可用的图像。他们还希望对他们的作品进行 2-3 次备份,确保他们的图像在发生任何意外灾难(如硬盘故障或意外损坏)时都能得到保护。为了应对当今摄影师所面临的挑战,有一些不错的 HDD 和 SSD 解决方案可供选择。

适用于摄影的 HDD
HDD 是存储大量文件最经济高效的方式,因为它们具有海量容量(单个硬盘容量可高达 18 TB)。HDD 也非常适合用于存档,因为它们是专为长时间可靠地存储数据而设计的。

适用于摄影的 SSD
然后,还有适用于摄影的 SSD,其每 TB 价格高于 HDD;然而,它们传输和访问数据的速度更快。SSD 还具有轻便耐用的优势。

当您的硬盘中装满作品时,它们本身就变成了存档文件,您可以根据自己的需要来整理和存储它们。当您需要更多存储空间时,您可以购买更多硬盘或擦除现有存储来满足存储新作品的需求,也可以保留现有数据来作为作品的物理备份。此外,还可以考虑将您的所有“小”硬盘汇编成一个大硬盘,以便于整理。

SD 和 microSD 存储卡

老式胶片相机已经过时,取而代之的是数码相机,后者可以用一个内置的可拆卸闪存卡存储数百甚至数千张高质量的照片。这些 SD 和 microSD 存储卡具备各种速度和容量。只需确保选择与您的设备兼容的存储卡即可。我们建议您购买比相机额定速度更快的存储卡。当需要卸载照片时,速度更快的存储卡将加快您的工作流程。

SD 存储卡出现得最早,其尺寸略大于 microSD 存储卡。事实上,大多数 microSD 存储卡都配有 SD 卡适配器,因此它们可以在标准 SD 读卡器中使用。两种外形规格的功能本质上是相同的。较小的 microSD 用于智能手机、掌上游戏机和平板电脑等紧凑型设备,而许多相机配备的 SD 卡插槽则既可以安装 SD 存储卡也可以安装 microSD 存储卡(通过适配器)。

卸载和备份您的作品

随着您拍摄的照片越来越多,相机中的可拆卸闪存会逐渐装满。您可以存储的照片数量取决于您设置的照片分辨率。高清照片会比标清照片更快地装满存储卡,因为前者的文件大小要大得多。

许多专业摄影师更喜欢使用具有极高分辨率的 RAW 格式拍摄。这种方法会快速地装满闪存存储。有时候,您的闪存卡将达到最大容量,需要卸载或擦除文件,来为新照片腾出空间。

大多数摄影师希望在笔记本电脑、平板电脑或智能手机上查看他们的作品,然后决定保留哪些照片、删除哪些照片。在确定要保存的所有照片之后,您会想把它们存储在数字媒体上,以便可以可靠地保存它们,同时使您能够进行编辑并与同事共享。有多种方法可以做到这一点:

将您需要的照片保存在 SD 存储卡上,创建一个存档(有点像保存“底片”),然后将一张新的空白 SD 存储卡插入您的相机,重新开始拍摄。

选择一个移动硬盘USB 闪存盘,这样您可以灵活地在设备之间传输您的作品,例如从笔记本电脑传输到工作室或家庭工作站。

外置台式硬盘的存储性能与移动硬盘相当,但它们放在家中或办公室并具有扩充容量。

使用内置硬盘时的编辑速度比使用外置硬盘更快。选择具有快速内置硬盘的笔记本电脑或 PC,或者通过快速内置硬盘升级您的当前设备。

便携式多硬盘 RAID 设备可用于远程作业,而且在处理海量数据(如超高分辨率照片或 RAW 格式的照片)时的速度非常快。

借助于云存储,您可以将作品上传到远程服务器并从任何可联网的地方访问您的文件。

使用支持 Wi-Fi 的硬盘,在拍摄时可将照片从支持 Wi-Fi 的相机直接卸载到硬盘上。

适合摄影师的移动硬盘

当今的专业摄影师可以从各种存储外形规格、容量和速度中进行选择。我们来看一些最受欢迎的设备:

移动硬盘

移动硬盘是很受欢迎的选择,因为其用途广泛且具有多种容量。大多数移动硬盘都基于 HDD 技术并配备 USB 接口 - 请务必检查哪个 USB 版本适合您的计算机。

  • 最常见的是 USB 3.0。
  • 较新的计算机具有 USB-C 或 Thunderbolt 接口,其速度比 USB 3.0 快得多。

移动固态硬盘

移动固态硬盘的速度比 HDD 快,但容量较低,具有与 HDD 硬盘相同类型的 USB 接口。

  • 这些 SSD 硬盘具有快速的响应时间,因此非常适合进行照片编辑。
  • 固态硬盘不采用活动部件,因此具有更高的现场灵活性,并且可以承受偶发的撞击或意外掉落带来的冲击。

便携式 RAID 设备

便携式 RAID 设备将两个或多个 SSD 或 HDD 组合在专门设计的机箱中搭配使用,可根据您选择的 RAID 配置提供海量容量和更高速度。

  • 通常配备经过特别调整的 SSD 或 HDD,旨在用于全日值守型 RAID 环境。
适合摄影师的在线存储解决方案

就容量和灵活性而言,在线解决方案是不错的选择。下面是要考虑的一些因素:

在线存储解决方案

在线存储解决方案、Dropbox、Box® 和 Amazon AWS® 等云服务通常会在用户超出最初提供的免费容量后,每月收取存储空间费用(有时还需要收取每月维护费)。照片可以上传到远程服务器,只要您可以访问互联网,就可以从任何地方进行访问。

个人云/NAS

通过设置网络附加服务器 (NAS) 来促进团队协作,NAS 是连接到家庭或办公室网络的单硬盘或多硬盘设备,并允许经过许可并可连接互联网的任何人进行远程访问。

照片和其他媒体可以远程上传、编辑和共享,而所有文件都保留在一个可从任何地方访问的在线存储库中。其优势在于没有月租费,因为初始设置时会使用您自己的互联网服务来建立连接。

专业摄影师的存储工作流程

1. 设置相机并拍摄图像

在摄影师的工作流程中,首先要有高品质的数码相机。您可以选择以下两种格式:

  • 大多数摄影师更喜欢以 RAW 格式拍摄。RAW 图像可以压缩或解压缩并使用相机传感器捕获的所有数据,因此照片的文件大小比 JPEG 格式的照片大得多。RAW 图像在可以导出之前必须经过编辑和处理,从而使摄影师能够完全控制曝光度、色彩平衡、分辨率等。
  • JPEG 格式是一种压缩格式,可能不需要任何后期制作工作,在休闲摄影师中更为常用。根据您的相机,您可以事先确定要使用哪种颜色配置文件、压缩率、图像分辨率和白平衡设置来获得最佳拍摄结果,而无需后期制作编辑。

2. 将图像传输到智能设备或笔记本电脑

下面几种方法可以将图像传输到智能手机、笔记本电脑或平板电脑:

  • 通过内置读卡器或将支持 USB 的读卡器连接到可用 USB 端口来把 SD/microSD/CompactFlash/XQD/CFExpress 存储卡连接到计算机,或者通过可用 USB 端口将相机直接连接到计算机。
  • 支持 Wi-Fi 的相机首先将图像写入内置存储卡,然后可以将照片直接卸载到云服务器或支持 Wi-Fi 的存储设备。注意:在没有插入存储卡的情况下,数码相机无法拍照。
  • Apple iPhoto®、Hedge®、Adobe Lightroom® 和 Adobe Bridge® 等程序可自动执行该过程,并有助于妥当地整理和标记文件。这些应用程序可以安全地移动数据并提供日志记录,以验证每个文件是否已成功复制且未被损坏。它们也可以(方便地)在传输中断时进行恢复。
  • 使用外部移动硬盘或 NAS 阵列备份和存档要保留的照片。将作品备份到独立设备上是防止丢失或意外删除的最佳方法。
  • 使用计算机的界面将所需文件移动或复制到所连接的存储设备上,同时删除不需要的照片,这样可以释放存储卡上的空间以容纳新的照片。但是,由于这种方法存在丢失数据的潜在风险,因此不建议使用。此外,由于您可以随时升级内部容量,因此不需要经常传输文件。

3. 编辑和处理图像

将图像卸载到设备上之后,就可以进行质量检查了。浏览每张照片并根据需要进行编辑。使用您喜欢的照片编辑工具(例如 Adobe Photoshop® 或 Lightroom)进行色彩校正、修饰、曝光修复等。

照片编辑可能是一个耗时的过程,具体取决于您要对给定图像中进行哪些校正。此步骤对于将合格图像与您要丢弃的图像分开至关重要。如果您不想丢掉任何图像,则可以将“不良图像”卸载到移动硬盘上,以备日后使用。

4. 整理、备份和存档

在查看和编辑照片之后,您需要对它们进行排序,将它们安排到相应的文件夹中,并为它们提供恰当的文件名,以便日后轻松检索。如果您不想采用手动完成这项工作的繁琐过程,则可以选择使用 Adobe Lightroom 或 Apple iPhoto 等应用程序,这些应用程序可以自动完成很多工作。

当然,您不会希望数百张照片占用计算机空间并可能减慢其速度,因此,为作品创建一个井井有条的备份对于以后轻松查找所需内容至关重要。

我们的备份规则非常简单:3-2-1。三个备份、两个位置和一个可用于处理的副本。由于摄影是您的生计,因此拥有 2-3 个位于不同位置的备份将有助于确保您的图像得到妥善保存。请考虑使用多个设备来保存不同的系列以便于访问:

SD/microSD 存储卡或 U 盘/闪存盘适用于有限的数据量

桌面、云或 NAS 存储设备适用于海量存储

移动 HDD 或 SSD 硬盘适用于更高的容量

5. 导出图像

无论您是准备将图像放到网络中还是进行打印,都需要一种导出图像的方法。有多种方法可以做到这一点:

  • 在用于打印目的时,您可以将最终图像复制到 U 盘和 SD 存储卡中,以便轻松地通过邮件或电子邮件发送到远程打印工作室。您也可以将它们刻录到 DVD 或 CD 上。此外,某些供应商还会提供 FTP 上传服务以实现即时传输。
  • 在个人云服务器上共享您的图像并邀请其他人共享,或者,如果您有很多图像,则可以将它们复制到移动硬盘中,以便轻松地传输到远程位置。
  • 网络图像的文件通常较小,可以通过电子邮件发送或以电子方式上传到远程服务器。无论选择哪种方式,都务必要对作品进行备份,以防传输中出错或文件意外丢失或删除。

专业摄影师问答

Photo Storage for the Professional Photographer

Today’s professional photographer has a myriad of digital tools at their disposal to create content more easily and with better results than ever before. Gone are the days of the required darkroom, chemicals, and expensive, specially-treated paper photographers used to produce photos, the digital revolution changed all that. Now, results are instant–thanks to digital cameras and digital storage–photographers don’t have to wait to develop photos in order to view them.

Whether you’re an experienced professional, or recently new to photography, this article will cover the tools to make your job easier and achieve the best results. We’ll assume you’ve already chosen the best digital camera(s) for your needs and will instead focus on digital storage, how to manage your library of work, edit and optimize images, and how to archive and share with others. Let’s explore and answer some common questions many photographers have such as:

Understanding Photo Storage

Solid-State Drive (SSD) Versus Hard Disk Drive (HDD)
If you ask most photographers, they’ll say you can never have enough storage. That’s because photographers want to keep most of their work, and not throw any usable images away. They’ll also want to have 2–3 backups of their work, making certain that their images are protected in the case of any unforeseen catastrophes, like drive failure or accidental damage. To address the challenges facing photographers today, there are some good HDD and SSD solutions to choose from.

HDD for Photo Storage
HDDs are the most cost-effective way to store lots of files, since they are available in massive capacities (up to 18 TB in a single drive). Hard disk drives are also great for archiving because they are designed to store data reliably for extended periods of time.

SSD for Photo Storage
Then, there are SSDs for photography that are pricier per TB than HDDs; however they transfer and access data faster. SSDs also have the advantage of being lightweight and durable while on the go.

As you fill up drives with your work, they become archives in themselves and you can organize and store them as you see fit. When you need more storage, you can simply buy more or erase existing storage to fit new work, or just keep your existing data as a physical backup of your work. Also, consider compiling all your “little” drives into one big drive for easy organization.

SD and microSD Cards

Old-fashioned film-equipped cameras have become outdated and have given way to digital cameras that can store hundreds or even thousands of high-quality photos using an onboard, removable flash memory card. These SD and microSD cards come in a variety of speeds and capacities. Just make sure to choose one that is compatible with your device. We suggest you buy a card that’s faster than your camera is rated. A faster rated card will speed up your workflow when it’s time to offload your photos.

SD cards arrived on the scene first and are slightly bigger in size than microSD cards; in fact, most microSD cards are sold with an SD card adapter so that they can be used in standard SD readers. Functionality between the two form factors remains essentially the same. The smaller microSD is used in compact devices like smartphones, portable game consoles, and tablets, whereas many cameras come equipped with an SD card slot that accepts both SD and microSD cards (with an adapter).

Offloading and Backing Up Your Work

The removable flash storage in your camera starts to fill up as you take photos. The number of photos you can store depends on the photo resolution you set. HD (or, High Resolution) photos will fill up a card faster than SD (Standard Definition) photos, because their file size is much larger.

Many professional photographers prefer to shoot in RAW format, at a very high resolution. This method can fill up flash storage quickly. At some point your flash card will reach maximum capacity and require offloading or erasure of files to make room for new photos.

Most photographers will want to review their work on a laptop, tablet, or smartphone and decide which photos to keep, and which to delete. Once you have all the photos you want to keep, you will want to store them on digital media that will preserve them reliably, while enabling you to edit and share them with colleagues. There are several ways to do this:

Keep the photos you want on the SD card creating an archive (kind of like keeping the ‘negatives’), and then insert a new, blank SD card into your camera to start shooting again.

Choose a portable drive or USB flash drive that will give you the flexibility to transport your work between devices - like from a laptop to your studio or home workstation.

External desktop drives have comparable storage to a portable drive, but reside at home or office and have extended capacity.

Use internal drives for faster editing than with external drives. Choose a laptop or PC with a fast internal drive or upgrade your current device with a fast internal drive.

Multiple-Drive RAID devices that are transportable for remote jobs, and fast when you’re dealing with massive amounts of data like super high-resolution photos or RAW format photos.

Cloud storage lets you upload to a remote server and allows you to access your files from wherever internet is available.

Use a Wi-Fi enabled drive that will offload photos from your Wi-Fi equipped camera directly to the drive as you shoot.

Portable Drives for Photographers

Today’s professional photographers can choose from a variety of storage form factors, capacities and speeds. Let’s take a look at some of the best photo storage devices:

Portable Hard Disk Drive

Portable Hard Disk Drives are a popular choice because they’re versatile and are available in a variety of capacities. Most are HDD-based and equipped with a USB interface - make sure to check which USB version is right for your computer.

  • The most common is USB 3.0.
  • Newer computers have USB-C or Thunderbolt connections which deliver speeds much faster than USB 3.0.

Portable Solid State Drives

Portable Solid State Drives deliver faster speeds than HDDs, but in lower capacities and share the same types of USB interface as HDD portable drives.

  • These drives are great for photo editing on the SSD itself because of their fast response times.
  • Solid state drives can be more resilient in the field because they have no moving parts and can withstand the occasional jostle or accidental drop.

Transportable RAID Devices

Transportable RAID devices group two or more SSDs or HDDs to work together in a specially-designed enclosure to deliver massive capacities and increased speeds depending on which RAID configuration you choose.

  • Usually equipped with specially-tuned SSDs or HDDs designed to work in an always-on RAID environment.

Online Photo Storage Solutions for Photographers

Online solutions are great options in terms of capacity and flexibility. Here are some elements to consider:

Online Storage Solutions

Online storage solutions, cloud services, like Dropbox, Box®, and Amazon AWS® typically require a monthly charge for storage space (and sometimes a monthly maintenance fee), once a user has exceeded the initial amount of free capacity provided. Photos are uploaded to a remote server and can be accessed from anywhere, provided you have internet access. 

Personal Cloud / NAS

Encourage collaboration with your team by setting up a Network Attached Server (NAS) – a single or multi-drive device that is attached to your home or office network and allows remote access to anyone with permission and an internet connection. 

Photos and other media can be uploaded, edited and shared remotely, while all files remain in a single, accessible-from-anywhere online repository. The advantage here is that there are no monthly fees since the initial setup establishes a connection using your own internet services.

The Professional Photographer’s Photo Storage Workflow

1.     Setting up the Camera and Capturing Images

The photographer’s workflow process begins with a quality digital camera. You have your choice between formats:

  • Most photographers prefer to shoot in the RAW format. RAW images can be compressed or uncompressed and use all of the data captured by the camera’s sensor, so photos have a much higher file size than jpeg photos. RAW images must be edited and processed before they are ready for export, giving the photographer full control over exposure, color balance, resolution and more.
  • The JPEG format is a compressed format that may not require any post-production work and is more common among casual photographers. Depending on your camera, you can determine in advance what color profile, compression, image resolution and white balance settings to use for the optimal results without post-production editing.

 

2.     Transfer Images to Your Smart Device or Laptop

There are several ways to transfer images to your smartphone, laptop or tablet:

  • Connect the SD / microSD / CompactFlash / XQD / CFExpress card to your computer via a built-in card reader or by using a USB-enabled card reader connected to an available USB port or, connect your camera directly to your computer via an available USB port.
  • Wi-Fi enabled cameras first write the image to an internal memory card, then can offload photos directly to a cloud server or Wi-Fi enabled storage device. Note: Digital cameras cannot take a photo without a memory card inserted.
  • There are programs like Apple iPhoto®, Hedge®, Adobe Lightroom®, and Adobe Bridge® (among others) that can automate the process and help keep your files organized and tagged properly. These applications move data safely and provide logs that verify each file was successfully copied and not corrupted. They also (conveniently) resume if a transfer is interrupted. 
  • Use an external portable drive or NAS array to backup and archive the photos you want to keep. Performing a backup of your work to a separate device is the best way to prevent loss or accidental deletion.
  • Use your computer’s interface to move or copy desired files onto a connected storage device while deleting unwanted photos, this frees up space on the card to accommodate new photos. However, this method is not recommended as there is a potential risk of losing data. There is also always the option of upgrading your internal capacity so you don’t need to transfer files as often.

3.     Edit and Process Images

Once you have offloaded your images on to a device, it’s time for a quality review. Go through each photo and edit as necessary. Make color corrections, retouching, exposure fixes, and more in your favorite photo editing tool like Adobe Photoshop® or Lightroom.

Photo editing can be a time consuming process depending on what you want to correct in any given image. This step is crucial for separating good images from ones that you want to discard. If you don’t want to throw any images away, you can offload ‘rejects’ onto a portable drive for consideration later on.

 

4.     Organize, Backup and Archive

Once you have reviewed and edited your photos, you’ll want to sort through them, arranging them in folders, and giving them thoughtful filenames for easy retrieval later on. If you want to forego the tedious process of doing this manually, you have the option of using applications like Adobe Lightroom or Apple iPhoto which can automate a lot of the work.

Of course, you don’t want hundreds of photos taking up space on your computer and possibly slowing it down in the process, so creating an organized backup of your work is key to easily finding what you need later on.

Our backup rule is simple: 3-2-1. Three copies, two locations, and one copy to work from. Since your photography is your livelihood, having 2-3 backups in different locations will help make sure your images are preserved. Consider using several devices to hold different collections for easy access:

 

SD / microSD cards or thumb / flash drives for limited amounts of data

Desktop, cloud or NAS storage devices for massive amounts of storage

Portable HDD or SSD drives for higher capacities

5.     Exporting Images

Whether you’re preparing images for the web or print, you’ll need a way to export them. There are several ways to do this:

  • For print purposes, you can copy your final images to a thumb drive and SD card for easy mail or email delivery to a remote print studio. You can also burn them to a DVD or CD. Also, some vendors provide an FTP upload service for instant transfer delivery.
  • Share your images on a personal cloud server and invite others to share, or if you have a lot of images, you can copy them to a portable drive for easy transport to a remote location.
  • Web images are usually lighter in file size and can be emailed or uploaded electronically to a remote server. Whichever way you choose, be sure to make a backup of your work in case something goes wrong with the transfer, or the file is accidentally lost or erased.

 

Professional Photographer’s Q&A